Skip to content

Michigan mutants!

June 7, 2010

It is now time for another Discovering Michigan post:  In September I was walking home from the bus stop for the first time.  It is quite a pleasant walk down a quiet tree-lined street.  There I am, strolling home, enjoying the sunshine and not stepping on broken glass, when this squirrel runs across the sidewalk:

There, up in the tree!

Here, maybe you can’t see it:

OMG! It's a mutant!

I go chasing after it, cell phone in hand, trying to get a picture of this obvious rarity, a mutant black squirrel!  I was super excited for like, two days, and then I see another, and another, and another.  My new colleagues scoffed at me; apparently they’re normal.  Black squirrels even have a wikipedia page!

But, if you read closely, they are mutant eastern grey squirrels!  They just happen to be very common mutants.  Alas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig Douglas permalink*
    June 7, 2010 4:29 pm

    I don’t know, JJ… My reading of the wiki article implies that the black squirrels were the norm and grey ones the mutants. Circumstances (like deforestation by European settlers) lead to the rise of the mutants (much like the House of M).

    • June 8, 2010 4:12 pm

      Yeah, well, where was the first Easter Grey Squirrel, in the north or south? And what color was it?

      • May 4, 2017 7:58 am

        My prolebm was a wall until I read this, then I smashed it.

Leave a Reply

