Skip to content

Memorial Day Fun Run

June 7, 2010

It suddenly occurred to me a couple of weeks ago that I’m in decent shape and fun runs are fun when that is the case.  Further, while I’m only aware of the one fun run in Philadelphia (the Locust Walk one), I’m sure that there are a plethora of them out there and Google would surely help me find some.  So away I Googled, and indeed there are some extensive lists out there.  Unfortunately, they all seem to be compiled from the “Philadelphia Area” with runs in Jersey and the counties surrounding Philadelphia as well as in Philadelphia proper.  Now I can’t even reach a majority of Philadelphia on my bike and be interested in running at the end of the ride, so there was a bit of mapping out to see where runs were located and a lot of rejecting runs.

But finally I found one that was close both geographically and temporally: the Lansdowne Memorial Day 5K.  So, I looked over the map of the course, saw and got excited about the Papa John’s pizza place that was about 1/2 a block from the start/finish, made sure I had my entry fee ready and generally made sure I was prepared.  So, the morning of Memorial Day I hopped on my bike, and set out.  It was already hot and muggy, and only getting worse, but otherwise a pretty day and an easy 3 mile bike ride.  I got there, got registered, stretched and jogged around a bit.  There were a few announcements: splits at the mile marks, water stops, an optional detour for a beer stop, not to be concerned when the course runs through a couple of back yards; and then it was time to go.

All 339 of the competitors smooshed our way over to the starting line and I purposely got myself a spot several rows back from the line.  I did manage to start out slowly and at a reasonable pace, but that lasted for less than 1/4 mile 🙂 .  The course was well marked (including the beer stop detour, but I didn’t go see if there actually was beer) and staffed.  There weren’t any major hills, though much of it did seem to be either gradually up or down hill.  My first mile was 5:40-something, my second was about 6:00 and my last mile was right at 6:20.  I finished the race in 18:44 (6:02 pace) and came in 9th (3rd in my age group).

I got a medal!

Unfortunately (and this didn’t even occur to me until I got there) the Papa John’s didn’t open until an hour or more after the run was over, so I didn’t get to bring pizza home with me.

A couple of side notes: 1) I’ve already registered for another run next weekend, yay!  2) It was 10 or 15 degrees cooler this morning during my run than it has been for weeks, and wow does that make a difference!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 6:15 pm

    Wow, that is quite the fancy medal. I am so happy you have started collecting them again. Too bad about the T-shirt. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Brad Schoener Memorial Run « Without Craig

Leave a Reply

