Skip to content

Kitchen Work XV: Preparing the Wall Cabinets

May 21, 2010

As you may recall, quite some time ago, my next big project was to be installing the kitchen cabinets.  Of course to do that, I just had the quick little job of finishing up the kitchen walls.  I decided it would be wise to seal the ceiling first.  Which led to the discovery that I needed to remove the wiring from the kitchen ceiling and the realization that I would have to disconnect all old electricity in the house to do that…

Any-hoo, I’ve now completed those very brief preparatory tasks and started working on the wall cabinets.  Last week I started prepping them to go up.  The first step was to haul them into the kitchen and get some plastic under them.

Wall cabinets all lined up in the kitchen.

Then I took the doors off,…

…removed the shelves, and labeled everything in the hopes of being able to put it all back together again.

Wall cabinets labeled and ready for staining.

After that I did a quick sanding to remove the occasional blue scuff (from them bumping into the labels on other cabinets) and such.  Then it was time for the first coat of polyurethane sealer and stain.

Stained wall cabinets and doors.

Between the first and second coats of stain, I steel wool-ed the cabinets and doors.

I had no idea you could use steel wool on wood, but I still don't think it'd be a good idea to use sandpaper on dishes.

Then I cleaned them up with mineral spirits and put on the final coat of stain.  My wall cabinets were now ready for the installation process.

Leave a Reply

