Skip to content

Kitchen Work XIII: Finishing the Walls and Ceiling Attempt II

April 17, 2010

Now that the old electricity was all detached from the system, I could continue finishing the kitchen walls and ceiling so that the cabinets can be put up.

So, I ripped all the old wiring and knobs and tubes out of the kitchen ceiling.  Katie had sanded most of the exposed beams when she came to visit and help out a year ago, and though I’d shut off the power to the wires while she was sanding up there, some parts where physically unreachable while the wires were still there.  So, I got started on the bit of remaining sanding.  My old sander has been dying for a while and after replacing its sandpaper, it shot the sanding disk at me.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

WARNING: picture of a booboo with blood below the fold

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

WARNING: picture of a booboo with blood below the fold

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The sander bit me.

So, it was time to go to the Lowe’s and get a new sander.  But the new sander is nice; its sawdust catcher actually seems to work (though I don’t know if it is because it’s a new rigid type instead of the cloth my old sander had or just because it is still all brand-y new), you can attach it to your shop-vac for sawdust removal (though my shop-vac hose isn’t long enough to reach the kitchen ceiling, so I don’t know how well that works, yet), and it uses quarter sheets of sandpaper that are clamped on instead of disks that are glued or Velcro-ed on.  Once the beams were all sanded it was time to put up the rest of the paneling, plastic the kitchen and start polyurethane-ing the ceiling and painting the walls.

Putting up paneling and putting down plastic.

Of course, I ran out of both plastic and the duct tape to hold it in place with, which meant another trip to the Lowe’s, but I also picked up the polyurethane for the ceiling while I was there.

Then I set forth to seal the ceiling, which I had bravely predicted would be the task of a few hours, probably not a full day’s worth of work.  And of course ran into a few hard realities.  The ceiling is not smooth, and the beams, even with the high points sanded off, still have a lot of texture to them.  This combined with the fact that it is 100-year-old, never-before-finished wood, means that it soaks up a lot of polyurethane and needs to be brushed over several times before it is actually coated.  The roughness combined with the fact that it’s exposed beams 9 inches high and 11 inches apart means that using a roller isn’t feasible and it has to be hand brushed.  And hand brushing on the ceiling means that the polyurethane runs down the brush, coats my hand and starts dribbling down my arm, and all turns to glue as it dries.  And that meant another trip to the Lowe’s to get disposable gloves (which help immensely, but still don’t solve the problem), more mineral spirits to clean up with and GoJo to wash it all off me with.

Polyurethane-ing ceilings is especially fun when you have to do it with a brush and have hairy arms.

And of course, my arms get tired both from pushing hard on the brush to try to get the polyurethane into all the nooks and crannies as well as from holding on to the beams for balance.  Combine that with the fact that I’m standing on top of a ladder with the open can of polyurethane right beneath my face and my head often clear up in the 9″ by 11″ space that I’m sealing and the fumes start to make me dizzy.

Sealing the kitchen ceiling.

I only got in one really solid day of doing this before I had to start really limiting my time at it.  Since then I’ve been spending a couple of hours a day up there brushing away.  It even took me a couple of days of that before I decided that I didn’t need to feel guilty about the slow progress, because even if I did somehow manage to buckle down and power through it, I still wouldn’t get it done fast.  And besides, I get to work on the electricity in the mean time, and have been making some satisfying progress there.  So, now I figure I’ve got nearly 20 hours in on my quick little project, am about 2/3 of the way done and am starting on my second gallon of polyurethane (that I had to make yet another trip to the Lowe’s for).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig Douglas permalink*
    April 17, 2010 12:07 pm

    For the discerning readers among you, yes, I did have to use the “Booboos” tag again, but at least it didn’t require an entire post this time.

    • Jennifer permalink*
      April 18, 2010 11:33 pm

      Wow, you totally need to warn for that kind of content in pictures! Didn’t your mama teach you any webiquette?

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Work XV: Preparing the Wall Cabinets « Without Craig

Leave a Reply

