Skip to content

Kitchen Work X: Plumbing the Kitchen Sink

March 18, 2010

Last week while Dave was here we tackled the plumbing for the kitchen sink.  And there is a reason for that.  There used to be a tiny little sink in our tiny little bathroom that is just off the kitchen, and even it took up way too much room making the bathroom unnavigable.  We are going to be replacing it with a water- and space-conserving miniature sink that is installed in place of the top of the toilet tank.  The old kitchen’s plumbing for the sink was leaky and in the wrong place.  So, long ago, when we had Dave demolishing the kitchen and bought a laundry sink for our temporary kitchen sink, we just wedged it in the door to the bathroom and hooked it to the bathroom sink plumbing.  So, in order to replace the flooring in the kitchen and bathroom, we were going to have to cover up the no-longer-needed kitchen and bathroom sink plumbing holes and cut around the new kitchen plumbing holes.

With everything I thought I’d need to accomplish the task (a plan, a guidebook and the fruits of my shopping trip) I went downstairs and started shutting off water.  Then I took the plunge and hack-sawed through some of the old copper pipes.

Plumbing bravely sawed apart.

I measured out the replacement pieces, cut and deburred them and dry fitted them.  Then I got to crack out my new torch…

Hey, this is kind of fun.

…and learn how hard soldering is.  The first joint I did I heated too long and the copper started looking like fresh lava: a crackled black shell revealing a glowing molten interior.  So I cut a new piece of copper pipe and got a new joint and tried again.  I managed this time at a lower temperature, but had to really glop the solder on to feel like I got it on all around the joint.  So, I decided that was good, but had to do 3 more joints before I could turn the water back on and test any of them.  I went ahead and got them done, but didn’t feel like I was learning any magical tricks improving the job I was doing.  So, I went forth and bravely turned the water back on.  And loe and behold, I had created not soldered joints, but a new shower!  Every single one of the joints I had “soldered” leaked the entire way around.  So, on Jennifer’s advice, I procured slip-joint, no-solder removable joints.

Well, it sure seems to be easier.

I got the first 4 joints put together and fired the water back up.  And they worked!  Like a charm.  You can even still swivel them around (like to make a T or elbow point in a different direction) while they are under pressure.  Definitely an easier way to do it.

After that we measured, cut and dry-fit the PVC pipe for the sink’s drain.

Freshly cut DVW pipe.

Dave got to do the priming and gluing for that…

Why, oh why didn't I take the blue pill.

And then we stuck them all back together again.  So the laundry sink is now in the kitchen proper hooked up at the new sink’s final location, and I still find it somewhat shocking that I don’t have to walk clear across the kitchen any time I want water.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawna permalink
    March 18, 2010 10:32 pm

    Dad and I both just rolled at your “new showers.” Dad’s been dealing with plumbing in the basement – we just turned on the water to the front, and low and behold, the valve (only a couple years old) had a crack in it – so off I went to work today, and Dad dealt with it. It’s mostly fixed, but maybe still has a couple minute leaks. It seems like water is going to find a way to escape. Just frustrating to deal with. I want to see a picture of the new kitchen flooring.

    • March 19, 2010 2:48 am

      I know, it is like he is holding out with the floor pictures.

  2. March 19, 2010 2:48 am

    Wow, I did not get near enough credit in this story for the quick connectors!!!!!

  3. Jennifer permalink*
    April 7, 2010 8:12 pm

    Where’s my ETA? Huh?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

