Skip to content

Bulk Freight Carrier: Trials and Tribulations with the Tire

March 4, 2010

When I finally got home with my poor, flat-tired beast-of-burden of a bicycle I was just too tired to deal with it.  So the next day when I was feeling up to it, I flipped it over…

All the king's horses and all the king's men...

All the king's horses and all the king's men...

…and took the wheel off.

...couldn't put my BFC together again. 😦

I got the tire off, took out the inner-tube, found the hole in it, determined that the culprit was no longer in the tire and started reassembling the wheel with no problems.  But then I tried to fill it back up with air.  And the tire bead popped out of it’s seat in the rim, allowing the inner-tube to pooch out the side.  So I let the air out and tried again: same thing.  So I looked online and they said that the most common problem that causes this to happen is the tire not being concentric with the rim.  They suggest that a good way to get them lined up is to coat the whole bead/rim surface with soapy water or WD-40 or inner-tube lubricant, inflate the tire slowly and push it around if it starts gaping in one area.  So I tried that, but the same thing happened.  Since the tire was nice and warm from being inside all night, I tried leaving it outside all night, and seeing if it would shrink enough to seat itself properly.  But the same thing happened.  I called Dad to see if he had any other things to try, to no avail.

Finally I gave up and took it to the bicycle shop today.  And the same thing happened to them, too.  So, I was vindicated!  It wasn’t just me!  But, of course, that meant the tire was bad, and I had to buy a new one.  Happily, they had the exact same tire there (it has a Kevlar lining to help protect against flat tires, and it seems to do a really good job in my case; I was getting flats twice a month before I got these tires).  So, I bought it and had them put it on, and my bulk freight carrier is back in action.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

