Skip to content

Electrical Work VII: First Circuit on New Wiring

February 18, 2010

~February 1, 2010~

With the conduit for the dryer’s circuit installed it was time to see if I could fish the wire through it.  So, I removed the electrical meter to break power to the breaker box, and started fishing.

Inserting the fishing tape.

The fishing tape was pretty stiff, but it went through with no problem that couldn’t be surmounted by pushing hard. 🙂

The tape fished all the way through.

When the fishing tape popped out the other end of the conduit, I tied mason’s twine to it and pulled that through the conduit.  I cut the twine so I could use it to measure the wires with and used that to pull another piece of twine through.  I measured and cut my wires, and began pulling them using the second piece of mason’s twine.  The twine is a bit stretchy and I just wasn’t able to put enough pressure on the wires to keep them going into the conduit very far.  I’m not sure I’d have been able to pull hard enough even if I’d been using the fishing tape, though, the wires really got wedged in the corners there.  Luckily, with it being such a short run, and the mason’s twine being way more bendy than the fishing tape, I was able to stand by the breaker box shoving the wires in with one hand and pulling on the twine coming out the end of the conduit with the other.

This is NOT going to work on a nice long conduit run.

It was really hard, but I finally got the wires fished all the way through the conduit.  I’m hopeful that future wire pulls won’t be quite so bad, because, even though this is the shortest circuit, its also has, by far, the most bends without the relief of junction boxes and is using thicker wire than I will be most of the rest of the time.

So, I went to the Lowe’s and bought a dryer power cord with plug-in (very commonly available and changeable for if you move your dryer to a place with a different kind of outlet) and outlet for it to go into.  The dryer originally had a wire coming out of the back of it, running through a single piece of conduit up the wall, running unprotected across the ceiling, into the breaker box and hooked directly into the breaker.  But, now, its all hooked up and running on the new conduit, wires, outlet and power cord.  Yay!

Plug it in, plug it in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kyle permalink
    February 18, 2010 1:34 pm

    This is so exciting. You are so much better than Bob Villa. Now, I have never done anything like this, and I may be way off base, but what if you put the wire through the conduit before you bent it. That may make it easier. It might not work on all occasions, but it may have here.

    • Craig Douglas permalink*
      February 19, 2010 11:05 am

      Haha, thanks for that Bob Villa part. Maybe I should go by a pen name of Craig Palazzo (Italian for mansion), no?

      Bending the conduit with wire in it probably would have been easier for that run. Unfortunately I think it would often be too complicated, as most of my pieces of conduit have multiple circuits running through them and some of their wires end at the end of the conduit while 0thers continue unbroken through additional pieces of conduit.

Leave a Reply

