Skip to content

Electrical Work III: Wiring Diagrams, Conduit Diagrams and Other Arcana

February 2, 2010

~December 10, 2009~

Well, I was trying to keep my “historical documents” in chronological order, but I missed one.  Also before my Christmas vacation last year (2009) I did quite a bit of work on the electrical plans.

First I broke each circuit down and made a wiring plan for it, as the excerpt here shows for the basement lighting circuit.

Wiring diagram for the basement lights circuit.

After the wiring diagrams were complete, I drew up a diagram of the conduit that I’ll be putting in the basement, and counted the size and number of wires to determine the number and sizes of conduit I’d have to install for each segment.

Conduit diagram.

With that completed it was time to go into the basement and measure each piece of proposed conduit run, then make up a spreadsheet that compiled that information with the number and size of conduit and the number and size of wires to be running through them so that I could get a shopping list together.

Conduit and wire spreadsheet.

And, what did I find?  Well, conduit is surprisingly not too expensive.  But, alas, wire seems to feel a need to make up for conduit’s frugality.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Racquel permalink
    February 2, 2010 7:22 pm

    Wow, you truly are a man of many talents. I’m very impressed that you can do electrical work.

    • Craig Douglas permalink*
      February 2, 2010 8:45 pm

      Yes, well, I haven’t done much actual electrical work yet. So, who knows? I’m hopeful that we can count electrical work as a talent of mine, but still not absolutely convinced. 🙂

  2. January 28, 2014 6:03 pm

    is Craig your cat?

  3. anaba chinazo permalink
    May 13, 2015 7:42 am

    Is good

Leave a Reply

