Skip to content

Electrical Work I: Existing and New Circuit Maps

October 18, 2009

Well, besides the kitchen, my other big job in getting the house finished is the electricity.  Since I have a pretty good (if rough) idea of where everything will be going in the kitchen, I can get a start on the electricity (which I need to do to get the walls finished in the kitchen).  So, currently our breaker box has 7 circuits in it.  One of them has never had anything on it, and recently 3 of the other circuits ceased working.  Additionally, I believe that all of the lighting in the house is still wired with knob-and-tube wiring.  Needless to say, there is a lot of electrical work to be done.

So, I’ve been trying to plan out where I want the electricity to be, and I believe that I have a good first draft done.  So here is a plan view of what the electricity looked like in the kitchen originally, and what I plan on it looking like when I’m done with it.

Original electricity serving the kitchen, of course 3 of the pictured circuits don't currently work.

Original electricity serving the kitchen, of course only 2 of the pictured circuits currently work.

Planned new electricity.

Planned new electricity serving the kitchen.

So, next up, I think, will be doing some exploration, measuring and calculating so I can try to get together a moderately comprehensive shopping list.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 1:32 am

    A Woo and a Hoo!

Leave a Reply

